UWS announces Women of the West nominees

Date: 05/03/2009

In celebration of International Women's Day, the University of Western Sydney has announced the nominees for the 2009 Women of the West and Young Women of the West awards.

The Awards are an opportunity for the communities of Greater Western Sydney to join the University in recognising the contributions of women to the development of the Region.

The winners of the Women of the West and Young Women of the West awards will be announced at a ceremony to be held at the UWS Parramatta Campus on Friday 13 March, at 4.00pm.

UWS Vice-Chancellor, Professor Janice Reid, says it is a great pleasure to mark International Women's Day by showing our appreciation for women who make our community a better place to live.

"Each year the University is inspired by the stories of so many women who commit their time, energy and resources to the causes they believe in," says Professor Reid.

"The nominees come from all walks of life, yet they all share a deep passion for the issues that are important to Greater Western Sydney and a selfless desire to make a difference.

"They show real leadership, and are role models for all to follow."

Each year, nominees are drawn from a variety of backgrounds including education, health services, local industry, volunteering, environmental groups, government and non-government organisations.

Previous winners of the Women of the West award include Helen Walker, the founding manager of Great Community Transport (GCT); Juliana Nkrumah, Assistant Manager of the Refugee and Network Support Team with Centrelink; Dr Elizabeth McCusker, neurologist and Service Director of the Sydney West Huntington Disease Service, Westmead; and Sister Mary-Louise Petro, Chief Executive Officer of Mamre Plains Limited at St Marys.

In 2008, the winner of the inaugural Young Women of the West award was announced as Lavinia Vaifo'ou, an 18 year old from Tregear in Sydney's west who was nominated for her advocacy of the needs and rights of young people of Pacific Islander heritage.

The 2009 'Women of the West' nominees are:

Julie Bacon of Picton
Joyce Bellchambers of Cranebrook
Anne Bryce of Glenwood
Barbara Curtin of Auburn
Rosemary Dillon of Katoomba
Anne Ford of Bradbury
Rosemary Kariuki of Macquarie Fields
Fatima Kourouche of Hurstville
Lena Nahlous of Parramatta
Jan Nicoll of Macquarie Fields
Jacqui Pateman of Parramatta
Sonya Phillips of Rouse Hill
Kylie Powell of Currans Hill
Caroline Staples of Berala
Karen Willcocks of Pendle Hill

The 2009 'Young Women of the West' nominees are:

Emma Louise Brindley of Ruse
Figen Cingiloglu of Strathfield
Rachel Coxon of Rosehill
Samah Hadid of Greenacre

WHAT: Women of the West awards ceremony
WHEN: 4:00pm, Friday 13 March, 2009
WHERE: Sir Ian and Nancy Turbott Auditorium, Building EE,
UWS Parramatta Campus, cnr James Ruse Drive and Victoria Road
RSVP: (02) 9678 7898, or email External Relations on eru@uws.edu.au

For further information about the Women of the West Award, visit:



Media Officer

Danielle Roddick
02 9678 7086, 0414 308 701