Outstanding UWS staff rewarded with prestigious national teaching and learning awards

Date: 13/08/2009

Ten UWS staff members have been recognised for their outstanding contributions to student learning in this year's national Australian Learning and Teaching Council Awards.

Eight Australian and Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC) citations were awarded to ten UWS staff this year, which represents the highest number of citations UWS has received in the four year history of the awards.

The ALTC promotes excellence in higher education by recognising, rewarding and supporting outstanding teaching and learning practice. Each citation recipient receives $10,000 for professional development to enable them to further enhance learning and teaching.

A ceremony for the successful NSW recipients was held in Sydney on 11 August, and was attended by UWS representatives, including Vice-Chancellor Professor Janice Reid.

Professor Reid congratulates the staff on their success.

"The University of Western Sydney is incredibly proud of our outstanding award winners who make significant and unique contributions to engaging and inspiring our students and provide an exceptional learning and teaching experience for them," says Professor Reid.

"These staff are the embodiment of the University's commitment to 'making a difference', and this public recognition by the Australian Learning and Teaching Council is richly deserved.

"The 2009 achievement builds on our success of previous years, and represents the highest number of citations awarded to UWS staff in the four year history of the awards, which is particularly pleasing.

"On behalf of the University community, I congratulate our staff on their ALTC success, and we look forward to their future contributions to improving the UWS student learning experience."

The full list of UWS recipients for 2009 are:

* Mr Michael Blissenden, School of Law, UWS Parramatta campus - For instilling in tax law students motivation for life long learning through the use of narrative and storytelling.

* Transition Team of Neera Handa, Erst Carmichael and Clare Power, Student Learning Unit, UWS Penrith Campus - An interdisciplinary approach to sustainability as a platform for successful transition to university for first in family, low SES (socio-economic status), non-English speaking background and/or mature-age students.

* Dr Charles Morris, School of Natural Sciences, UWS Hawkesbury campus - For creating multiple links to the teaching-research nexus to ensure relevant, engaged and authentic learning (REAL) in large tertiary science classes.

* Dr Loshini Naidoo, School of Education and Centre for Educational Research (CER), UWS Penrith campus - For making social justice education and community engagement central rather than peripheral to pre-service teacher professional development.

* Dr Ruying Qi, School of Humanities and Languages, UWS Bankstown campus - Underpinning language teaching with research: How cognitive and developmental approaches lead to effective learning and assessment in classes of native and non-native speakers of Chinese.

* Dr Yenna Salamonson, School of Nursing and Midwifery, UWS Campbelltown campus - For being responsive to an evolving learning environment, while maintaining focus on inspiring and engaging students, and leading in educational research and scholarly activities.

* Associate Professor Catherine Sinclair, Office of the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching), UWS Penrith campus - For a sustained, internationally recognised contribution to teacher education in a socially disadvantaged region through the purpose-built Integrated Practicum and its Pedagogies.

* Ms Nicole Stegemann, School of Marketing, UWS Parramatta campus (together with Dr Catherine Sutton-Brady from University of Sydney) - For enhancing student learning in marketing through innovative assessments and holistic curriculum development.



Media Officer

Danielle Roddick
02 9678 7086, 0414 308 701